Pictures of everything and anything from anywhere….but mainly from Glasgow and Edinburgh

Shadows


 

I decided to test my new camera last night in the park, one of the main reasons I bought the camera was for taking night shots. I managed to get some awesome pictures, and a couple for a competition coming up, which I’ll post later today or tomorrow. Anyway I love the shadows and the colours in this shot. I’ve been playing around with using RAW files, got to say I would highly recommend if you use Photoshop for editing, that’s how I managed to get the colours in this shot. I did get some really strange looks, in the park at 9:30 at night with a camera and a tripod taking pictures, worth it though. Enjoy!

Buy prints here

6 responses

  1. Lovely image – the shadows and the colors are soft and dreamy – very evocative. Nice shot!

    17/03/2011 at 3:39 pm

    • Thanks! It was really misty outside which I think helps give it that dreamy feel, it felt quite surreal being in a misty park at night!

      17/03/2011 at 3:59 pm

  2. Beautiful play of light and shadow. I’ve had a few people ask me if I’m taking pictures for a magazine or something of the sort. I’m considering replying that I’m working for National Geographic the next time someone asks me; I’d like to see their expression.

    18/03/2011 at 1:44 am

    • Thanks! Yeah I might try that one, would be good to see what they do! I get the impression a lot of the time that people assume you’re meant to be or are allowed to be in certain places when taking photo’s, especially when I’m in strange positions trying to get a shot!

      18/03/2011 at 10:07 pm

  3. This is simply beautiful! A splendid night shot, full of atmosphere and mystery!

    I feel the same way you do about not wanting to take all the “touristy” shots, as you mentioned in your current post, but sometimes those subjects are the most compelling to shoot!

    19/03/2011 at 12:57 am

    • Thanks Lynda! I think you’re right about touristy shots being the best sometimes, I suppose that’s why they’ve become touristy in the first place!

      19/03/2011 at 3:18 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers