Pictures of everything and anything from anywhere….but mainly from Glasgow and Edinburgh

Outside in the wasteland


These shots are from the same outing to the old tram works in Leith that these pics came from, but from around the outside of the buildings. I had completely forgotten about these pics until I saw Astra Wally’s post featuring a couch, and I was reminded of the couch in the first image. I love these old buildings because they have so much character and the old design, especially the round windows, looks great. Most of the graffiti is in the inside of the buildings but there is some on the outside and the blue graffiti next to the couch is my favourite.

I considered doing these shots in black and white, but I quite liked the colourful graffiti in the first pic and also the contrast between the red brick and the blue sky in the other two. All three were put through single image HDR toning in Photoshop CS5, but only with a little editing to bring out the detail as I wanted to keep them looking natural. Other than that the only other changes were in the colour curves to bring out the red in the brickwork, as well as a few adjustments to exposure and contrast levels, again to help bring out the details.

8 responses

  1. Superb Photos. Great composition on all three, I really like your sofa one with the background graffiti very cool. I need to visit this place.
    Also thank you for the ping
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    01/04/2011 at 4:59 pm

    • Cheers Astra, and no problem for the ping, I think I would have completely forgotten about these shots if it hand’t been for your post. Credit where credits due!

      01/04/2011 at 7:18 pm

  2. These shots would look great in B&W but I think I love the color a little more with these. These are spectacular with an artistic edge. Very nice.

    01/04/2011 at 6:40 pm

    • Thanks Babygirl. I did try them in B&W, but after a lot of consideration I decided colour was the best, especially for the picture with the graffiti since it was so vibrant. Thanks for stopping by :)

      01/04/2011 at 7:16 pm

  3. the second shot, through the window. that one is cool. good eye.

    01/04/2011 at 7:15 pm

    • Thanks Stephanie, I thought it would be quite nice to get the remainder of the roof structure through the window, glad you liked it!

      01/04/2011 at 7:21 pm

  4. hi! I love these shots – the colors are so vibrant. I especially love the first picture – i like how you can take something that some poeple would call “dirt” or “messy” and make it look beautiful through photography!

    03/04/2011 at 2:30 am

    • Thanks! I think sometimes the dirty and messy things are the best things for photography because they can be beautiful in a less obvious, and therefore more interesting, way. Thank you for visiting :)

      03/04/2011 at 3:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers